New Year’s Eve in Melbourne

Standard

photo (4)As luck would have it, I was rostered a long multisector trip to Singapore and Melbourne, Australia, over the New Year’s Eve holiday. And even luckier, I have family in Melbourne and was to be in the city for about 30 hours entering the new year smack dab in the middle of it, so I was looking forward to a big family get-together and lots of Filipino food (yum!).The crew were really great and I would have loved to celebrate with them, but I was really happy have been able to spend it with family. I’d been to Melbourne and Singapore many times before, so keep an eye out for those posts coming soon. On this blog, I’ll just be sharing pictures from the NYE party and celebrations.

Most of my cousins that were in attendance! It was Hawaiian themed!

Most of my cousins that were in attendance! It was Hawaiian themed!

I’ve mentioned my Aussie family before, but here’s a complete explanation: My dad’s mother’s sister emigrated to Australia with her 4 children, and those 4 children grew up to have more children, and even their children have even more children. So like a good Filipino, she’s set up a whole network of Pinoy down under. I actually didn’t even know they existed until I moved to Dubai and an uncle of mine from the US had traveled over, and told me about them. Two of my second cousins, were actually living here, and left three months after I arrived! But my cousin Cathy has since moved back to Dubai.

At midnight, hugs and kisses everywhere!

At midnight, hugs and kisses everywhere!

So I was very happy and excited to be able to be a part of their New Year’s Eve celebrations! There was a gift exchange, loads and loads of food, Skyping cousin Cathy (who was actually spending her NYE in Norway) and sparklers (I haven’t played with sparklers since I was a kid!)

IMG_1262

IMG_1258

IMG_1253

Looking forward to great things in 2014! Happy new year all!

 

Leave a Reply

