Feelin’ Frisky in San Francisco

Standard

sf01

I’m no stranger to San Francisco. Having lived all my life in Arizona, I spent a lot of time in neighboring California visiting family, friends and even going for work…

Working for GirlGamer at the Game Developer’s Conference..

And maybe a pageant or two…

Onstage at Miss Asian America at the Palace Theater, sponsored by Miss Asia Arizona

Onstage at Miss Asian America 2007 at the Palace Theater, sponsored by Miss Asia Arizona

So after moving to Dubai, a layover in San Francisco didn’t always spark the tourist in me, I usually went to meet up with friends a do a bit of shopping. But on occasion, when the crew was super friendly and keen to go out, I opted to join them and be a tourist myself. The first time I went out on a tour with the crew was in April 2011, we checked out good ol’ Fisherman’s Wharf, Pier 39, and took a boat tour.

Trolley fun!

Trolley fun!

sf04

sf05 sf09

sf06

Fisherman's Wharf

Fisherman’s Wharf

Boudin Sourdough Factory

Boudin Sourdough Factory

And of course had to stop for a beer!

And of course had to stop for a beer at The Wavehouse!

The weather was surprisingly (ok, maybe just to us) windy and chilly and pretty much all of us were not prepared, so a few were forced to buy their very own San Francisco souvenir sweatshirts to survive the boat ride… It was easy to find a tour boat. Many of them are privately owned and docked all along the wharf, with signs posting tours. Ours was just $15 for a nice tour of the bay.

sf11

sf12 sf13

The Golden Gate Bridge

The Golden Gate Bridge

We circled the infamous abandoned high security prison, Alcatraz. I have yet to do a tour on the island itself, but I will someday!

sf16

sf17 sf18

sf19

And here’s a funky piece of art from the airport…

sf02

My next stint as a tourist in San Fran was about a year later, when one of the crew was excited to bike across the Golden Gate Bridge. I’m not exactly athletic unless I’m put up to it, but it did sound like a fun and interesting challenge. We picked up our bikes from Blazing Saddles on Pier 41 and started our journey.

They say riding a bike always comes back to you.. unfortunately that wasn't true for my friend, who had a bit of trouble on it!

They say riding a bike always comes back to you.. unfortunately that wasn’t true for my friend, who had a bit of trouble on it!

While we did stop many times on the way and slowed our pace, the bike ride en route to the Golden Gate Bridge was actually quite beautiful and serene. Little pockets of peacefulness hid along the pathway that most tourists don’t see if they are driving and or using public transport to get to the bridge.

sf21 sf23

Doggie on the beach!

Doggie on the beach!

After many stops and much hardship (of my friend, not me!) we finally made it to the bridge!

After many stops and much hardship (of my friend, not me!) we finally made it to the bridge!

You can check out this video I took while biking on the bridge itself… just don’t mind the foul language! My friends said I shouldn’t have been filming while I was riding, but if you pay attention, I was in the bicycle lane (not marked but signs posted bikes to the left) and the potential accident was blindly walking into my lane…

sf26

sf27

Once we crossed the bridge, we continued onto a small town on the other side called Sausalito. There, I was meeting up with a friend who would join us for lunch, and then we’d take a ferry back to the wharf.

Pretty talented on the bike if I do say so msyelf!

Pretty talented on the bike if I do say so myself!

Entering Sausalito

Entering Sausalito

Then we found my friend Raychul and looked for a yummy spot for lunch. If any of you readers are hardcore gaming fans, you may know Raychul and her famous gaming videos on Youtube.

My dear friend Raychul

My dear friend Raychul

We decided on a charming spot for some fresh seafood!

Yummmm....

Yummmm….

sf31 sf32

Exhausted and with full bellies, we made it back to the ferry dock to go back to the wharf. While we waited, we encountered some of Sausalito’s finest locals…

sf35And back to the wharf we go!

sf36

7 responses »

  1. It looks like you are having an awesome time! I don’t know if you will find the time to join but I wanted to inform you about my own mini challenge for my birthday (14th), I want to do something special this year since I haven’t celebrated my birthdays a few years… I would be very happy if you would join, it will run for probably 7 days and then 7 days me praising some of you who did the best in a daily challenges, pingbacks and all. 😀 I promise it will be fun. Please do join, or else this can become really sad very quickly hahahaha
    Everyone is welcome to join! 🙂 Here is the link to my blog: http://ivymosquito.wordpress.com/

  2. Great to be followed by an established blogger. Hopefully the call up to Dubai comes soon and my dreams of visiting San Fran will come true one day. The first thing I did was search for a post on sour dough and I’m so glad you took a pic..haha!

Leave a Reply

