Alan’s Birthday Weekend

Standard

Even though Alan only turned 29 (not like me, who joined the Dirty Thirties Club in December) on March 13, I felt like being in a festive mood and made some special plans for his birthday.  Instead of paying for a dinner somewhere fancy, I opted for the annual Taste of Dubai, a weekend long festival where restaurants all over the city, from casual to fine dining, sets up a booth and offers a “taste” of their menu. There’s also live musical performances, cooking classes, as well as live demonstrations from cooks from all over the world.

British Airways VIP tent

British Airways VIP tent

French Chef Jean-Christophe Novelli does a lot of talking and very little cooking...

French Chef Jean-Christophe Novelli does a lot of talking and very little cooking…

Alan and I taken by Ahlan! Magazine (no, really!)

Alan and I taken by Ahlan! Magazine (no, really!)

Food booths.. yum!

Food booths.. yum!

IMG_1756IMG_1753

Cooking competition

Cooking competition

Also, I had made it a goal to photograph each plate I got, but I had starved myself beforehand and devoured each plate as soon as I got it! So here’s the only picture I have of food.. and it’s half eaten…

Delicious Thai green chili prawns and crab cakes

Delicious Thai green chili prawns and crab cakes

Every dish we tried was amazingly delicious! I even cheated on my low-carb diet and had a really yummy red velvet cupcake with cream cheese frosting.. ohhh maaaan I can still taste it!

Afterwards, we stopped by a friend’s place for a nightcap, and spotted an almost aerial view of the festival:

IMG_1766

The next day, although weather reports were showing to be quite wet for normally dry Dubai, we hired a yacht and invited some friends out. We were fairly lucky as it was only semi-overcast and sprinkled lightly for a few short bursts, but we couldn’t sail anywhere and just stayed put in one spot. It’s ok, we all still had a great time:

Lots of boats out not sailing, just like us!

Lots of boats out not sailing, just like us!

And this crazy guy...

And this crazy guy…

All the girls on the boat!

All the girls on the boat!

Aaaand birthday boy!

Aaaand birthday boy!

Leave a comment