Summer 2014 Part 1: England

Standard

Wow, I am REALLY REALLY behind… I have just been super busy with my upgrade (I’m still in my probationary period), having been on leave a few times and planning a wedding with 8 months to go!

So I’ll break it down quickly what happened over the summer. Alan quit his job at the gym that hired him to move to Dubai, and with a partner, has started his own mobile fitness company, Universal Fitness. (Would be great if you could like them on Facebook! 🙂 So during Ramadan, he spent a month back home in the UK. I went there and back, I had two weddings to attend (one of my friend’s and one of his cousins’) but had to work in between. We also spent a few days in Paris! I took loads of pics, so I’ll try and post only my favorites, but that will be difficult..

If you’re interested, you can see what I did while on my Layovers In London.

Before we start, I was surprised to find this gem in Alan’s hometown, Guildford:

summer2014_01

Our first objective was the drive to Bath to attend the wedding of my friend Raksha, who was my batchmate. We joined our airline on the same day and became fast friends. She resigned about a year later, and we kept in touch. She is Indian-British and her now-husband is just British… so it was a fun mix to see. 🙂 I got a sari from a friend who no longer needed it, and I crafted the sari top myself. I basically bought a white cotton crop top, dyed it, and then hand beaded it.

summer2014_02

The ceremony was a traditional Hindu ceremony, about 2 hours long. Raksha looked like a Bollywood star!

summer2014_05summer2014_04

During the cocktail hour, Alan and I ventured into the Fashion Museum. The wedding was being held in the beautiful Assembly Rooms, and we had planned on visiting the Fashion Museum the next day, but it was so convenient to pay a visit while the couple were taking photos.

summer2014_03summer2014_06

I had to put my arms through the front and tie it over my sari!

The reception was in a lovely assembly hall with ancient Roman detailing. It was an amazing mix of Indian and British culture.

summer2014_07summer2014_08

summer2014_9

The next day, Alan and I spent an unusually sunny British day exploring the adorable little town that is Bath.

summer2014_10

Roman Baths

summer2014_11summer2014_12summer2014_15

Threw a UAE dirham coin into the bath! Wonder how many different currencies are in there..

Threw a UAE dirham coin into the bath! Wonder how many different currencies are in there..

We ventured around the city and stumbled upon a beautiful little park.

summer2014_17

summer2014_16summer2014_18

We then went completely British and paid a visit to the very busy and very famous Sally Lund’s tea house for afternoon tea, appropriately, in the Jane Austen room:

summer2014_19

We started with their famous “bunn” with smoked salmon, and finished with amazingly delicious clotted cream, jam and scones!

summer2014_20summer2014_21

On the drive over, we had accidentally come across STONEHENGE! It’s so busy these days that we have to book in advance, so we booked once we got into Bath for the next day. So we stopped by to check out one of the Seven Wonders of the (World) Medeival Mind, Stonehenge.

Our #stelfie... yes, our Stonehenge Selfie

Our #stelfie… yes, our Stonehenge Selfie

The Stonehenge Exhibition and shuttle service was built in December of 2013 to help preserve the monument, as well as offer additional information. Up until then, you used to be able to drive right up to it. I think this way makes it a bit more of a meaningful visit.

summer2014_22summer2014_23

summer2014_25

We drove up to London for the afternoon to check out the Natural History Museum:

summer2014_26summer2014_30

summer2014_27

summer2014_28

Our #trelfie!! Yes, can you see a trend here?

Our #trelfie!! Yes, can you see a trend here?

To be continued in Part 2 coming soon!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

